Sinful Beetroot Chocolate Coffee Ganache Cake with olive oil (butter free)

My daughter loves red velvet cake but I hate food colouring. I discovered this recipe http://www.nigella.com/recipes/view/beetrootchocolate-cake-1273 and had beetroots in my kitchen. Hate vegetables but liked the idea of sheep disguised in wolf’s clothing for a change. Note – chop beetroots and mince in food processor. Squeeze out all the juice by hand (drink it asap) so that the beetroot is dry and does not sink to the base of your cake pan.

But as usual, one ingredient was missing – corn oil and the fridge yielded a small lump of butter. Too lazy to call the grocery (a hidden luxury in Dubai) who also delivers very late, I tried the net for a substitute to both.

Beetroot Chocolate cake with chocolate coffee ganache
Beetroot Chocolate cake with chocolate coffee ganache

Voila. The joy of discovering that olive oil is a good substitute and actually enhances the taste of cocoa!!!! http://thewhiteramekins.com/2013/03/27/beetroot-chocolate-olive-oil-cake/. Yet scary – what if I had a disaster cake tasting like a Med salad? Decided to take the plunge..

The cake turned out well –dense and dark – around 50 minutes at 180. But check around 40 minutes for doneness since fruit cakes start to burn suddenly.  Very healthy cake.. Now for the sinful part..

Shameless promo – I love my own icings; seconded by anyone lucky enough to eat my cakes whenever I make one in two months… http://sona217foodie.wordpress.com/2012/07/03/old-fashioned-chocolate-cake-with-galaxy-dark-chocolate-icing/.

Then again, I was short of Galaxy dark chocolate – had two bars. So I substituted the other two with three bars of Galaxy smooth milk chocolate and a teaspoon of coffee (Nescafe Gold) beaten into the icing during the whipping stage. Took off the brown sugar since I wanted a pouring type of ganache..

Packed a huge chunk for my friend who dropped in for dinner (warned her not to tell her family of new ingredients for a reality check). She said that her brother (one of my biggest cake fans) asked for more. Likewise with the rest…Now go and eat your beets…..

2 thoughts on “Sinful Beetroot Chocolate Coffee Ganache Cake with olive oil (butter free)

Leave a Reply

